Faculty Members - Active

 
 
  Faculty:   a     b     c     d     e     f     g     h     i     j     k     l     m     n     o     p     q     r     s     t     u     v     w     x     y     z             Emeriti       In Memoriam      Search  
 
 
 
 
 
 
Lior David

Prof. Lior David

Associate Professor
Vigevani Senior Lectureship in Animal Sciences
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489038 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9489577
lior.david@mail.huji.ac.il
Animal Sciences, Room: 002
Genetics and evolution of complex traits in fish and yeast.
Oren Forkosh.

Dr. Oren Forkosh.

Senior Lecturer (Assistant Professor)
Phone: +972-(0)8-948-9865, +972-(0)54-637-8670
oren.forkosh@mail.huji.ac.il

Computational Methods for Animal Psychology and Welfare.

Read More

We use machine-learning to study positive psychology in animals and in humans.By using theory and friendly experiments to understand personality, behaviour, hierarchy, communication, social learning, and much more, we hope to make the world happier for everybody.

Read Less
Yossi Wein

Dr. Yossi Wein

D.V.M, Ph.D. Immunology
Lecturer
Phone:+972-(0)8-9489289
yosi.wein@mail.huji.ac.il
Animal Sciences, Room: 004C

Animal histology, physiology & immunology
Faculty animal care ethics committee
Farm animals supervising veterinarian

Yael Mandelik

Dr. Yael Mandelik

Senior Lecturer (Assistant Professor)
Head of Department
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489224 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9466768
yael.mandelik@mail.huji.ac.il
Conservation, biodiversity, ecosystem functions and land-use change, insect pollinators and pollination.
Shai Morin

Prof. Shai Morin

Professor
Vice Dean for Academic Affairs
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489365 | Lab: +972-(0)8-9489271 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9466768
shai.morin@mail.huji.ac.il

Ecological and evolutionary genetics, insect-plant and insect-environment interactions.

Boaz Yuval

Prof. Boaz Yuval

Professor
Morris and Helen Mauerberger Chair in Agricultural Entomology
Phone:+972-(0)8-9489419 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9466768
boaz.yuval@mail.huji.ac.il
Behavioral ecology of insects, Insect microbe interactions, Integrated pest management.
Ziv Bar-Shira

Dr. Ziv Bar-Shira

Senior Lecturer (Assistant Professor)
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489140
Ziv.Barshira@mail.huji.ac.il

Agricultural production under uncertainty (applications to insurance), Technological change in agriculture, Non-parametric methods in economics.

Read More

 

Read Less
Aliza Fleischer

Prof. Aliza Fleischer

Professor, Vice Dean for International Affairs
Head, International School of Agricultural Sciences
Yekutiel X. Federmann Chair in Hotel Management
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489144
aliza.f@mail.huji.ac.il
Economics of tourism, Rural tourism, Economic value of open space & agricultural landscape.
Ayal Kimhi

Prof. Ayal Kimhi

Associate Professor
Head of Department
Sir Henry d'Avigdor Goldsmid Professor of Agricultural Economics
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489376
ayal.kimhi@mail.huji.ac.il

The economics of family farms; Public policy in agriculture, labor markets, education and aging. Structural changes in the farm sector; Farmers' time allocation, exit and retirement decisions; Intergenerational transfers and farm succession.

Read More
  

 

Read Less
Shay Covo

Dr. Shay Covo

Senior Lecturer (Assistant Professor)
Head of Department
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489160 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9466794
shay.covo@mail.huji.ac.il
Lauterman building

Drug resistance in fungi, Genome instability and chromosome biology in fungal plant pathogens.

Yael Helman

Prof. Yael Helman

Associate Professor
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489218 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9466794
yael.helman@mail.huji.ac.il
Lauterman building, Room 4

Microbial interactions in the rhizosphere, Biological control of plant pathogens, Mechanisms of bacterial stress responses.

Maggie Levy

Prof. Maggie Levy

Associate Professor
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489162 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9466794
maggie.levy@mail.huji.ac.il
Lauterman building

Glucosinolate accumulation, Biological control of Botrytis cinerea.

Read More


Research in the Lab

The main focus of the research in our lab is plant-pathogen interactions. Plant pathogens challenge our efforts to maximize crop production. A limited understanding of the pathogenesis and defense mechanisms involved in plant-pathogen interactions often obstruct those efforts. We study the plant's defense responses against the fungal plant-pathogen Botrytis cinerea. Structural defense, chemical defense and plant induced resistance via the biocontrol agents Pseudozyma aphidis. Our knowledge on the regulation of plant defense pathways may contribute in the long term to the development of plant-protection strategies that will reduce the required amount of chemicals and thereby genuinely benefit the consumer, farmers and the environment.

Researcher of the month article at the faculty newsletter.

Visit our website.

 

Read Less
Oded Yarden

Prof. Oded Yarden

Professor
Buck Family Chair in Plant Pathology
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489298/315 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9468785
oded.yarden@mail.huji.ac.il
Aaronsohn building
Molecular mechanisms of fungal growth and development, cell wall biosynthesis, regulation of hyphal elongation and branching.
Rivka Elbaum

Prof. Rivka Elbaum

Associate Professor
Head of Plant Sciences in Agriculture Bachelor Program
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489335
rivka.elbaum@mail.huji.ac.il
Building A, Room 2118

Plant cell wall structure and function; Hygroscopic movement for seed dispersal; Silica in plants.

Smadar  Harpaz-Saad

Dr. Smadar Harpaz-Saad

Senior Lecturer (Assistant Professor)
Cyril Rosenbaum Senior Lectureship in Horticulture
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489264
smadar.harpaz@mail.huji.ac.il
Plant cell wall, cellulose biosynthesis, genes in cell wall function, Seed mucilage to study cell wall metabolism, Fruit tree physiology.
Shmuel Wolf

Prof. Shmuel Wolf

Professor
Vigevani Chair in Agriculture
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489428 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9462385
Shmulik.Wolf@mail.huji.ac.il
Factors affecting productivity, yield accumulation and quality of vegetable and field crops, Phloem genomics, Seed development.
yotam-zait

Dr. Yotam Zait

Senior Lecturer (Assistant Professor)
Yotam.Zait@mail.huji.ac.il
Photosynthesis and water use efficiency improvement in crops, optimizing mesophyll conductance to CO2, guard cell physiology
Benny Chefetz

Prof. Benny Chefetz

Professor
Dean
Columbia Foundation Chair in Soil and Water Sciences
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489384 | Mobile: +972-(0)54-8820492
benny.chefetz@mail.huji.ac.il
Lubell building, office 23
Environmental Chemistry, Pollutants of Emerging Concern, Soil Chemistry.
Yael Mishael

Prof. Yael Mishael

Associate Professor
Head of Department
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489171
yael.mishael@mail.huji.ac.il
Lubell building, office 31
environmental chemistry, interactions at the surface of soil particles,  development of new organic-mineral materials
Nimrod Schwartz

Dr. Nimrod Schwartz

Senior Lecturer (Assistant Professor)
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489288
nimrod.schwartz@mail.huji.ac.il
Lubell building, office 24
Soil-root interactions and water and nutrient uptake, Spectral induced polarization for non-invasive detection of rhizosphere processes.
Eran Tas

Dr. Eran Tas

Senior Lecturer (Assistant Professor)
Head of Department
Joseph H. and Belle R. Braun Senior Lectureship in Agriculture
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489139
eran.tas@mail.huji.ac.il
Lubell building, office 15
Agro-meteorology, atmosphric chemistry, air-pollution, modelling, field measurements.