Institute of Environmental Sciences

 
 
  Faculty:   a     b     c     d     e     f     g     h     i     j     k     l     m     n     o     p     q     r     s     t     u     v     w     x     y     z             Emeriti       In Memoriam      Search  
 
 
 
 
 

Administration

 
 
 
 
 

Active Faculty Members

 
 
 
Ziv Bar-Shira

Dr. Ziv Bar-Shira

Senior Lecturer (Assistant Professor)
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489140
Ziv.Barshira@mail.huji.ac.il

Agricultural production under uncertainty (applications to insurance), Technological change in agriculture, Non-parametric methods in economics.

Read More

 

Read Less
Dizza Bursztyn

Dr. Dizza Bursztyn

Senior Teacher
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489387 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9466267
dizza.bursztyn@mail.huji.ac.il
Bio-statistics, Para-clinical statistics, Design of experiments, Computer experiments.
Benny Chefetz

Prof. Benny Chefetz

Professor
Columbia Foundation Chair in Soil and Water Sciences
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489384 | Mobile: +972-(0)54-8820492
benny.chefetz@mail.huji.ac.il
Lubell building, office 23
Environmental Chemistry, Pollutants of Emerging Concern, Soil Chemistry.
Shay Covo

Dr. Shay Covo

Senior Lecturer (Assistant Professor)
Head of Department
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489160 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9466794
shay.covo@mail.huji.ac.il
Lauterman building

Drug resistance in fungi, Genome instability and chromosome biology in fungal plant pathogens.

Avraham Ebenstein

Dr. Avraham Ebenstein

Senior Lecturer (Assistant Professor)
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489228 | Fax +972-(0)8-9466267
ebenstein@mscc.huji.ac.il

Environmental economics, health economics, development economics and economic demography.

 

Yael Heifetz

Dr. Yael Heifetz

Senior Lecturer (Assistant Professor)
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489313 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9466768
yael.heifetz@mail.huji.ac.il
Initiation of fertilization in the fruit fly Drosophila melanogaster.
Amir Heiman

Prof. Amir Heiman

Professor
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489143
amir.heiman@mail.huji.ac.il
Pre-Purchase Risk-Reduction Marketing Mechanisms, Branding and promotion of agricultural products.
David Helman

Dr. David Helman

Senior Lecturer (Assistant Professor)
+972-(0)8-948-9208
David.Helman@mail.huji.ac.il
M&M-VS Lab, near Kennedy-Lee buildings +972-(0)8-948-9242
Crop modeling, Digital Agriculture, and Remote Sensing
Yael Helman

Prof. Yael Helman

Associate Professor
Vice Dean for International Affairs
Head, International School of Agricultural Sciences
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489218 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9466794
yael.helman@mail.huji.ac.il
Lauterman building, Room 4

Microbial interactions in the rhizosphere, Biological control of plant pathogens, Mechanisms of bacterial stress responses.

Edouard Jurkevitch

Prof. Edouard Jurkevitch

Professor
Head of Department
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489167 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9466794
edouard.jurkevitch@mail.huji.ac.il
Lauterman building

Predatory bacteria, Bacteria-tephritid fruit flies symbioses, Molecular profiling of soil microbial populations.

Iddo Kan

Prof. Iddo Kan

Associate Professor
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489233
iddo.kan@mail.huji.ac.il

Environmental and natural resource economics, land-use modeling, water and waste management, political economics.

 

Nadav Kashtan

Dr. Nadav Kashtan

Associate Professor
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489450 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9466794
nadav.kashtan@mail.huji.ac.il
Lauterman building

Using systems biology to study ecology and evolution of microbes.

Ayal Kimhi

Prof. Ayal Kimhi

Associate Professor
Sir Henry d'Avigdor Goldsmid Professor of Agricultural Economics
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489376
ayal.kimhi@mail.huji.ac.il

The economics of family farms; Public policy in agriculture, labor markets, education and aging. Structural changes in the farm sector; Farmers' time allocation, exit and retirement decisions; Intergenerational transfers and farm succession.

Read More
  

 

Read Less
Maggie Levy

Prof. Maggie Levy

Associate Professor
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489162 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9466794
maggie.levy@mail.huji.ac.il
Lauterman building

Glucosinolate accumulation, Biological control of Botrytis cinerea.

Read More


Research in the Lab

The main focus of the research in our lab is plant-pathogen interactions. Plant pathogens challenge our efforts to maximize crop production. A limited understanding of the pathogenesis and defense mechanisms involved in plant-pathogen interactions often obstruct those efforts. We study the plant's defense responses against the fungal plant-pathogen Botrytis cinerea. Structural defense, chemical defense and plant induced resistance via the biocontrol agents Pseudozyma aphidis. Our knowledge on the regulation of plant defense pathways may contribute in the long term to the development of plant-protection strategies that will reduce the required amount of chemicals and thereby genuinely benefit the consumer, farmers and the environment.

Researcher of the month article at the faculty newsletter.

Visit our website.

 

Read Less
Yael Mandelik

Dr. Yael Mandelik

Senior Lecturer (Assistant Professor)
Head of Department
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489224 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9466768
yael.mandelik@mail.huji.ac.il
Conservation, biodiversity, ecosystem functions and land-use change, insect pollinators and pollination.
Yair Mau

Dr. Yair Mau

Senior Lecturer (Assistant Professor)
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489386
yair.mau at mail.huji.ac.il
Lubell building, office 19

Environmental modeling, ecohydrology, soil degradation, desertification.

Yael Mishael

Prof. Yael Mishael

Associate Professor
Head of Department
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489171
yael.mishael@mail.huji.ac.il
Lubell building, office 31
environmental chemistry, interactions at the surface of soil particles,  development of new organic-mineral materials
Shai Morin

Prof. Shai Morin

Professor
Phone: +972-(0)8-9489365 | Lab: +972-(0)8-9489271 | Fax: +972-(0)8-9466768
shai.morin@mail.huji.ac.il

Ecological and evolutionary genetics, insect-plant and insect-environment interactions.